Back to News

SEC Reporting Skills Workshop 2022

A webinar series


Pacific Time

Join Cooley's public companies group for an SEC reporting skills workshop. This event will feature interactive sessions that will dive into the particulars of drafting various SEC disclosures, identify common pitfalls to avoid and offer practical guidance for today's dynamic reporting environment.

Topics will include the proxy statement and annual report, drafting periodic reports, drafting Form 8-K, liability risks for Section 16 reporting persons and drafting the MD&A.

This webinar series is designed for in-house counsel, paralegals and members of in-house finance and compliance teams.

Details and registration

For more information, please email Joey Anderson.
Session 1 + 2
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Preparing an EGC Proxy Statement

11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET
60-minute program
This session will cover the nuts and bolts of preparing proxy disclosure for emerging growth companies, including compensation-related disclosures, as well as the role of proxy advisory firms and key considerations in preparing for an annual meeting.

Emphasis on the “A”: Writing an Effective MD&A
12:30 pm PT / 3:30 pm ET 90-minute program
This session will cover an overview of the MD&A requirements, including recent SEC amendments, with a focus on practical tips that public companies and advisors can apply as they work through the process of preparing MD&A disclosures.
Sessions 3 + 4:
Friday, January 14, 2022
Do I Have to Report That?: Intro to 8-K Reporting
11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET
60-minute program
This session will cover events that trigger an 8-K filing, Reporting significant acquisitions and related financial statement requirements, Pitfalls for the unwary and Impact on Form S-3 eligibility.
Why it Matters: Section 16 Reporting and Liability
12:30 pm PT / 3:30 pm ET
60-minute program
This session will cover Section 16–purpose and overview, Section 16 insiders and timing considerations–entering and leaving the system, short swing profits and disgorgement and disclosure considerations.
Sessions 5 + 6:
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Proxy Advisory Firm and Institutional Investor Policy Updates and Advice for the 2022 Proxy Season
10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET
60-minute program This session will focus on proxy advisory firm and institutional investor policy updates, as well as advice for the 2022 proxy season. 
10 for 10 – Top 10 Tips for 10-K and 10-Q Drafting (and Earnings Releases Too!)

11:30 am PT / 2:30 pm ET
60-minute program
This session will cover key considerations and helpful tips for drafting Annual Reports on Form 10-K, Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q and more.


Credit

Cooley LLP is an approved provider and can provide credit in CA, CO, IL, NY and TX. Cooley LLP is a sponsor and can apply for credit in OH, VA, WA. Credit in other jurisdictions may be available via reciprocity. For specific CLE credit questions, please email our Licensing + Compliance team.

 

Related Contacts
Chadwick Mills Partner San Francisco
Jason Kent Partner New York
Siana Lowrey Partner San Francisco
Alessandra Murata Partner Palo Alto
Sarah Sellers Partner New York
Su Lian Lu Special Counsel Los Angeles
Nicolas H.R. Dumont Partner New York
Christina T. Roupas Partner Chicago
Reid Hooper Special Counsel Washington, DC
Courtney Thorne Partner Boston
Amy M. Wood Partner San Diego
Megan Arthur Schilling Partner San Diego
Carlos Ramirez Partner San Diego
Courtney M.W. Tygesson Partner Chicago
Related Practices & Industries

Public Companies