Back to News

Biotech + Breaking Glass: Leading Women in Life Sciences

Life Sciences & Healthcare Innovation Program


Eastern Time

11:00 am – 12:00 pm PT
2:00 – 3:00 pm ET
7:00 – 8:00 pm GMT

Join us for our next Biotech + Breaking Glass: Leading Women in Life Sciences event. This series features women in the life sciences industry sharing and celebrating their stories, obstacles and milestones.

Our latest installment will feature Clare Ozawa, Managing Director at Versant Ventures, a leading healthcare venture capital firm with $4.2 billion under management that is committed to helping exceptional entrepreneurs build the next generation of great companies. Clare will be joined by Cooley lawyers Madison Jones and Courtney Thorne and will discuss topics around her role at Versant and exceptional career to date.

Clare Ozawa, Ph.D., became a Versant Managing Director in 2017 and leads investments in San Diego and the Bay Area. Clare previously oversaw strategic business operations for all Inception Sciences research sites across North America. During her tenure at Inception, she assumed leadership roles in the creation and management of six new companies launched in partnership with academic researchers and major biopharmaceutical companies. Clare joined Versant from Novartis Pharma, where she worked in the Office of the CEO, leading strategic initiatives for the Novartis Pharma Executive Committee. Previously, Clare was at McKinsey & Company where she advised clients across the biopharmaceutical sector.

• Madison Jones – Partner, Cooley
• Courtney Thorne – Partner, Cooley
Clare Ozawa – Managing Director, Versant Ventures

This virtual event is part of our 2022 Life Sciences & Healthcare Innovation Program, Cooley’s 15th annual event in conjunction with the J.P. Morgan Healthcare Conference.

Event details and registration

For more information, please email Savannah Euler

Related Contacts
Courtney Thorne Partner Boston
Madison Jones Partner Washington, DC