Back to News

Cooley is Leadership
Friendly Fire: Training Workshop With Ashish Nanda

Life Sciences & Healthcare Innovation Program


Pacific Time

11:00 am – 1:00 pm PST
2:00 – 4:00 pm EST
7:00 – 9:00 pm GMT

The two-hour training session, led by Harvard professor Ashish Nanda, emphasizes the challenges of coordination, accountability, and teamwork when distributed teams are undertaking complex projects. On April 14, 1994, two U.S. air Force fighter jets shot down two U.S. army helicopters, killing all 26 people on board. This was the worst case of 'friendly fire' in U.S. military since World War II. The shoot-down happened during peacetime, in broad daylight, with unlimited visibility. All the major players involved in the tragedy – the two fighter jets, the two helicopters, and an Airborne Warning and Control System (AWACS) aircraft – were part of the same well-established task force that had operated without incident for over three years. Participants will work through a video-driven reconstruction of what happened on that day and discuss what could have caused this tragedy.

This virtual event is part of our 2022 Life Sciences & Healthcare Innovation Program, Cooley’s 15th annual event in conjunction with the J.P. Morgan Healthcare Conference.

Event details and registration

For more information, please email Savannah Euler.

Related Contacts
Christian Plaza  Partner Reston, Boston
Kay Chandler  Partner San Diego
Laura Berezin  Partner Palo Alto
Related Practices & Industries

Life Sciences  Digital Health