CLE Resources and Rules Updates

Changes during the COVID-19 crisis

(Updated September 21, 2020)

Cooley is monitoring CLE rules updates and temporary rules changes as a result of the COVID-19 crisis. This resource list will be updated as new information becomes available.

Free CLE resources

  • Lawline wants to make obtaining CLE credit as stress free as possible during this time. Lawyers in need of CLE credit may register for unlimited access to Lawline's catalog of 1,500+ online programs at no cost through June 30. Lawline's programs are accredited in most US jurisdictions. Access from Cooley's dedicated registration page.
  • Practicing Law Institute (PLI) has a page of COVID-19 related program content that is free for all legal professionals.

PLI also provides one hour of legally substantive CLE credit each week through their Spotlight Friday program. The Spotlight Friday has expanded to include an additional 20 on-demand programs available at no cost through May 31. Contact our CLE team to get Cooley's PLI Spotlight Friday email with the latest list of programs available.

CLE rules updates

As of August 7 
Jurisdiction Update
Connecticut
As of June 26
The Judges of the Superior Court have ordered the suspension of the MCLE requirement for the entire calendar year of 2020. All CLE credits taken in 2020 shall apply in full towards an attorney’s or authorized house counsel’s 2021 requirement, even if the amount exceeds the two hour carryover cap.
Delaware
As of April 6
The Supreme Court of Delaware has issued an order waiving the live CLE requirement for the two-year periods ending December 31, 2020 and December 31, 2021. All 24 CLE credit hours may be satisfied by approved courses that do not require a in-person, live appearance.
Florida
As of March 23
The Florida Bar is taking recommended precautions and implementing social distancing by closing their offices and having limited staff working remotely. Requests will be processed in the order in which they are received. However, due to the reduced staff, the processing time may be longer than usual. Please note that all course accreditation has stopped until The Florida Bar offices reopen.
Georgia
As of March 10
The Supreme Court of Georgia has issued an order temporarily waiving the 6-hour in-person CLE requirement. You are still required to fulfill your 12-hour CLE requirement by March 31, but the order allows you to obtain all of your hours through self-study, in-house or online seminars. State Bar offices will be closed through March 31, 2020. Given this information, the Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency has extended the late fee deadline to April 30 for lawyers who have not completed their 2019 CLE requirements.
Illinois
As of April 20
The IL Supreme Court has decided to provide attorneys with last names beginning A-M in the 2018-2020 reporting period the option to secure a no-cost, three-month extension to complete their credits.
  • Attorneys who complete their credits by June 30, 2020 will report compliance at any time by July 31, 2020 at no cost.
  • For attorneys who do not complete their credits by June 30, 2020, they will report "Not Yet Complied" to the Board online by July 31, 2020 to secure the three-month extension at no cost.
    • No reason for the extension is needed. 
    • Those attorneys then have until September 30, 2020 to complete their credits and report compliance to the Board.
Indiana
As of March 31
Credit-hour limitations on distance education are waived for all attorneys, judges and state-level judicial officers whose compliance period ends on December 31, 2020. Judges and attorneys whose educational periods end on or before December 31, 2022 may obtain no more than 24 hours of distance education. State level judicial officers whose educational periods ends on or before December 31, 2022 may obtain no more than 36 hours of distance education.
Iowa
As of March 16
In the matter of preparation for COVID-19's impact on the office of regulation, the Iowa Supreme Court has issued an order allowing attorneys to complete all 15 hours of their requirement online through webinars or on-demand programming.
Kansas Please keep in mind that an attorney licensed in Kansas can currently complete the entire 12-hour requirement online, including ethics. The six-hour cap only applies to prerecorded programming. Live webinars and teleconferences are not capped. Any distance learning programs must meet the standards required for verification and interaction.
Kentucky To provide more flexibility to Kentucky attorneys during the COVID-19 emergency, the Supreme Court hereby ORDERS under Section 116 of the Kentucky Constitution that the 2019-2020 CLE deadline under SCR 6.645(1) is moved to June 30, 2021, at which time every person licensed to practice law in the Commonwealth must complete and certify 24 CLE credits, 4 of which must be ethics. The reporting deadline under SCR 6.645(2) for the combined 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 educational years shall be August 10, 2021.
Maine
As of March 13
Effective March 13 and until further order, any in-person participation requirements for continuing legal education, including but not limited to the requirement in M. Bar. R. 5(c)(3), are hereby suspended and participation may be by an electronic medium.
Missouri
As of March 23
The Supreme Court of Missouri issued an order dated March 23, 2020 that as a result of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic, the reporting year for 2019-2020 will be for the 15 months between July 1, 2019, and September 30, 2020. Any extra credit hours earned during the 2019-2020 reporting year may be carried over as prescribed in Regulation 15.05.5.
Minnesota
As of March 18
The Supreme Court of Minnesota has issued an order temporarily waiving the credit limitation for on-demand courses. Minnesota attorneys in category 3 who are due to report their requirement on August 31 (for the 2017-2020 reporting year), may complete all of their requirement as on-demand courses.
Nebraska The Nebraska Supreme Court has issued an order temporarily removing the limit to distance learning courses. Attorneys can complete up to 10 credits of distance learning for all CLE requirements due on or before January 20, 2021. This includes the 2020 requirement.
New Jersey
As of March 10
Relaxed as of March 10 until further notice. All 24 credits can be earned through alternative verifiable formats (on-demand with verification procedures).
New Mexico
As of March 27
The Supreme Court of New Mexico issued an order dated March 27, 2020 that as a result of the COVID-19 public health emergency, deadlines for bar dues and MCLE delinquency and administrative suspension processes have been extended by 30 days.
New York
As of September 16
The NY CLE Board has extended until January 31, 2021 the temporary rule allowing newly-admitted attorneys to earn skills credits in certain non-traditional formats. Skills credits may be acquired via remote simultaneous formats as long as questions are permitted.
North Carolina No changes (Note: Although North Carolina previously had a live CLE requirement, as of January 1, that requirement was rescinded. North Carolina attorneys can complete their entire CLE requirement via on-demand programming.)
North Dakota
As of March 23
Effective immediately and continuing until further notice attorneys in Reporting Group 3, who report in 2020, will be allowed to earn all or a portion of the required 45 credits through self-study. Three (3) ethics CLE hours will still be required.
Ohio
As of March 17
The Commission has adopted the following changes for attorneys with regard to CLE Late Compliance for the 2018/2019 period: Deadline to complete all hours is extended to June 29, 2020, and waiver of the self-study cap for the 2018/2019 Late Compliance period. At this time, The Commission on Continuing Legal Education in Ohio is not recommending a waiver of Ohio's twelve-hour cap on self-study.
Pennsylvania
As of April 15
The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued an order to extend the April 30 CLE compliance deadline applicable to Compliance Group 1 to August 31. All other 2020 annual compliance deadlines remain unchanged and on standard schedule.

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued a court order temporarily waiving the six hour limitation on distance learning credits for 2020 compliance deadlines. Attorneys in Pennsylvania may now complete all 12 hours of their 2020 CLE requirements though approved distance learning activities.
South Carolina
As of March 17
The Supreme Court of South Carolina has issued an order stating that all attorneys may complete their 14 hour requirement through online or telephonic programs for the 2019-2020 reporting year, which ends April 15. All attorneys who missed the March 1 filing deadline now have until April 15 to file their report of compliance before facing an administrative suspension.
Tennessee
As of March 27
The Tennessee Supreme Court has issued an order allowing lawyers to earn all or any portion of the required continuing legal education hours for 2020, or for purposes of seeking reactivation or reinstatement in 2020, through approved Distance Learning effective immediately through December 31, 2020. This new change supplements the previous order waiving the eight-hour distance learning CLE limitation for the 2019 requirement. Attorneys can now complete any portion of their 2019 CLE requirement via on-demand until March 31.
Texas
As of March 23
The State Bar of Texas MCLE Department will grant an automatic 60-day extension to attorneys reaching their compliance deadlines in March, April or May. Attorneys who missed compliance deadlines in January or February will receive an automatic 60-day extension to prevent the assessment of further fees.
Utah In-person requirement is lifted for periods ending on June 30.
Vermont
As of March 23
The Vermont Supreme Court has lifted the 10 hour cap on credits earned via self-study programs for the 2018-2020 reporting period. The Vermont Judiciary also issued a notice stating, "In light of possible cancellations/rescheduling of CLE programming due to COVID-19 concerns, the Office of Attorney Licensing wants to remind attorneys that "live" programming includes non-recorded programming presented via electronic means, such as webinars and teleseminars."
Virginia
As of April 14
The Supreme Court of Virginia has extended deadlines for dues, the Clients' Protection Fund fee, MCLE, certification of professional liability insurance, and the attorney wellness fund fee. The extensions move all deadlines from July 1, 2020, until September 30, 2020, and October 31, 2020 to December 31, 2020.

The completion deadline for 2020 MCLE requirement is extended from October 31 to midnight EST December 31, 2020 and the CLE hours need to be reported no later than 4:45pm EST February 15, 2021.
Washington
As of June 5
The due date for reporting MCLE credits earned for the 2018-2020 reporting period is extended by one year. In addition, lawyers are authorized to carry over an additional 15 credits toward the next reporting period.
West Virginia
Check the Bar Blast and wvbar.org for more information on when implementation of the waiver is complete
Temporary Waiver of Online Continuing Legal Education Credit Limit. The State Bar is currently working on implementing the Temporary Waiver of Online Continuing Legal Education Credit Limit. Current CLE totals on your transcript may not reflect the actual total of credits.
Wisconsin The Wisconsin Supreme Court has lifted the cap on credits earned via repeated, on-demand programs from 15 to 30 credits effective March 17 through December 31.

Questions or concerns about your CLE requirements?

Cooley's CLE team is available to assist. Please contact Brandi-Leigh Miller and Lauren Holian for additional information.

Coronavirus resource hub